Notice Type
Land Notices
Notice Title

Notice of Final Decision to Assign Place Names

Pursuant to section 15 of the New Zealand Geographic Board Act 1946, notice is hereby given of the final decisions of the New Zealand Geographic Board Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa to assign the names stated in the first column of the Schedule below, to the places described in the second column of the said Schedule and that such decisions shall take effect on 14 August 2002.
South Auckland Land District
Karewa/Gannet Island Island located approximately 25km north-west of the entrance to Kawhia Harbour. Topographic map 260 Q15 & R15 Kawhia, GR 2647800E 6357800N. Updating to current dual naming format from Gannet Island (Karewa).
Westland Land District
Mount Selborne Mountain at height 1864m, located approximately 17km south south-west of Haast. Topographic map 260 F38 Wilkin, GR 2184500E 5679660N. Currently named Mount Selbourne.
Selborne Range Range, extending southerly from Mount Selborne, then south-easterly to Mount Alba along the Main Divide. Topographic map 260 F38 Wilkin, from GR 2184500E 5679660N to GR 2189270E 5663360N. Currently named Selbourne Range.
Selborne Spur Spur, extending south-westerly from its intersection with Rampart Ridge and Crevice Spur at an unnamed peak of height 1155m, for approximately 3km to Rampart Cliff, above the Waiatoto River. Topographic map 260 F37 Haast, from GR 2181100E 5680600N to F38 Wilkin, GR 2178100E 5678700N. Currently named Selbourne Spur.
Otago Land District
Mount Domett Mountain at height 1942m, centred between Otematata, Oamaru and Ranfurly. Topographic map 260 I40 Kurow, GR 2302200E 5590250N. Currently named Mount Domet.
Dated at Wellington this 24th day of October 2002.
W. K. SHAW, Secretary, New Zealand Geographic Board Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.