Notice Type
Land Notices
Notice of Final Decision as to Assignment of Place Names Pursuant to section 15 of the New Zealand Geographic Board Act 1946 notice is hereby given of the final decision of the New Zealand Geographic Board to assign the names stated in the first column of the Schedule below to the places described in the second column of the said Schedule and that such decisions shall take effect on 13 August 1996 Schedule Name Description of Place Nelson Land District 1. Splugeons Rock Infomap 260 M27 GR 770002 rock, lookout point. On track from Tablelands to Leslie River. Change from Spurgeons Rock. 2. Bell Island Infomap 260 N27 GR 245905 small island in Waimea Inlet. Change from Bells Island. 3. Best Island Infomap 260 N27 GR 230904 small island in Waimea Inlet. Change from Bests Island. Southland Land District 1. Trevaccoon Head NZMS1. S166. GR 006465 prominent headland in Long Sound. Change from Trevacoon Head. Schedule Railway Line Names North Island Name Description of Place 1. North Auckland Line From Westfield to Otira via Penrose, Newmarket and Waiotira. 2. Bay of Islands Scenic Railway (Private) From Kawakawa to Opua. 3. Port Whangarei Industrial Siding From its junction with the North Auckland Line to Port Whangarei. 4. Auckland-Newmarket Line From Auckland Station to Newmarket. 5. Dargaville Industrial Line From Waiotira to Dargaville. 6. North Island Main Trunk From Wellington to Auckland, via Palmerston North, Marton, Okahukura, Hamilton and Orakei. 7. Onehunga Industrial Line From Penrose to Onehunga. 8. Auckland Freight Branch From Westfield to Auckland Freight. 9. Glenbrook Vintage Railway (Private) From Glenbrook to Waiuku 10. Mission Bush Branch From Paerata to Mission Bush 11. Rotowaro Industrial Line From Huntly to Rotowaro 12. Thames Branch From Morrinsville to Thames via Paeroa 13. Cambridge Industrial Line From Ruakura to Hautapu 14. Cambridge Industrial Siding From Hautapu to Cambridge 15. Kinleith Branch From Waharoa to Kinleith via Putaruru 16. Rotorua Branch From Putaruru to Rotorua 17. Taneatua Branch From Hawkens to Taneatua 18. Mount Maunganui Branch From Te Maunga to Mount Maunganui 19. Murupara Branch From Kawerau to Murupara 20. Palmerston North-Gisborne Line From Palmerston North to Gisborne via Woodville and Napier 21. Napier Freight Branch From Napier Junction to Napier Port 22. Marton-New Plymouth Line From Marton to New Plymouth via Te Roti, Stratford and Lepperton 23. Waitara Industrial Line From Lepperton to Waitara 24. Stratford-Okahukura Line From Stratford to Okahukura 25. Kapuni Branch From Te Roti to Kapuni 26. Wanganui Freight Branch From Wanganui Junction to Wanganui Freight 27. Castlecliff Industrial Line From Wanganui Freight to Castlecliff 28. Wairarapa Line From Wellington to Woodville via Petone, Woburn, Upper Hutt and Masterton 29. Melling Branch From Petone to Melling 30. Gracefield Industrial Line From Woburn to Gracefield 31. Johnsonville Line From Wellington to Johnsonville South Island Name Description of Place 1. Main North Line From Addington to Picton 2. Weka Pass Railway (Private) From Waipara to Waikari 3. Midland Line From Rolleston to Greymouth via Stillwater 4. Stillwater-Westport Line From Stillwater to Westport 5. Ngakawau Branch From Westport to Ngakawau 6. Hokitika Industrial Line From Greymouth to Hokitika 7. Rapahoe Industrial Line From Greymouth to Rapahoe 8. Main South Line From Lyttelton to Invercargill via Addington, Rolleston and Dunedin 9. Hornby Industrial Line From Hornby to private sidings 10. Tinwald Industrial Siding From Tinwald to private sidings 11. Waiareka Industrial Line From Waiareka to Taylors Lime Siding 12. Port Chalmers Industrial Line From Sawyers Bay to Port Chalmers 13. Taieri Gorge Railway (Private) From Taieri Industrial Estate to Middlemarch 14. Taieri Branch From Wingatui to Taieri Industrial Estate 15. Finegand Industrial Siding From Balclutha Yard to Finegand Freezing Works 16. Bluff Industrial Line From Invercargill to Bluff 17. Kingston Branch (Private)-(Operated by NZRL) From Kingston to Fairlight 18. Ohai Industrial Line From Invercargill to Ohai via Wairio Dated at Wellington this 13th day of August 1996. F. HALL, Secretary, New Zealand Geographic Board Nga Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa.
Publication Date
24 Jul 1996

Notice Number


Page Number